Source-linked mortgage category
Ontario alternative mortgage rates
Alternative mortgages may serve borrowers or properties that do not fit standard prime underwriting. Their published matrices often vary by credit band, income documentation, property use and LTV, so the lowest row is not automatically available to every applicant. Compare the same credit or pricing tier and include percentage lender fees over the actual product term before drawing a cost conclusion.
- Match the published credit or pricing tier to the relevant row.
- Include lender fees when estimating interest and stated fees during the term.
- Confirm property type, occupancy, mortgage position and maximum LTV before comparing rates.
- Published pricing rows
- 109
- Distinct products
- 23
- Lenders / maximum LTV
- 7 / 83%
- Latest record
- September 1, 2026
What this category can and cannot answer
The inventory can show published rate rows, terms, positions, LTV ceilings, property or qualification wording, fees and source dates. It cannot determine approval, current lender discretion or city-level availability where the source only states Ontario.
- Positions shown
- First, Not stated by lender, Second mortgage, Second
- Term range
- 12–60 months
- Comparison path
- Open these filters in the full comparison
Published product records
Ordered by smallest displayed rate for scanning, not suitability.
| Lender | Product | Displayed rate | Term | Position | Maximum LTV | Rate / verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MCAN Home | Discover Alternative — 1 Year Posted | Starting at 5.09% | 12 months | First | 80% | Dated April 14, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| MCAN Home | Discover Alternative — 2 Year Posted | Starting at 5.14% | 24 months | First | 80% | Dated April 14, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| MCAN Home | Discover Alternative — 3 Year Posted | Starting at 5.19% | 36 months | First | 80% | Dated April 14, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| CMLS Financial | AVEO Traditional 3 Year ARM | CMLS Prime + 1.14% (5.59%) | 36 months | First | Not stated | Dated August 11, 2026Verified August 11, 2026 |
| CMLS Financial | AVEO Flex40 — 1 Year | 5.89% fixed | 12 months | First | 80% | Dated August 11, 2026Verified August 11, 2026 |
| Bridgewater Bank | 1 Year Standard Alternative | 5.99% AIR | 12 months | First | 65% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| Bridgewater Bank | 2 Year Standard Alternative | 6.14% AIR | 24 months | First | 65% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| Bridgewater Bank | 3 Year Standard Alternative | 6.24% AIR | 36 months | First | 65% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| CMLS Financial | AVEO Traditional Fixed | 6.24% fixed | 36 months | First | Not stated | Dated August 11, 2026Verified August 11, 2026 |
| First National Financial LP | Excalibur Mortgage | 6.29% | 36 months | First | Not stated | Dated August 31, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| National Bank Optimum Mortgage | Alternative Variable-Rate Mortgage | Prime + 2.00% (6.45%) | 60 months | Not stated by lender | 80% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Express First Mortgage — 1 Year | 6.99% | 12 months | First | 80% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Express Rental Mortgage | 6.99% | 12 months | First | 70% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| National Bank Optimum Mortgage | Alternative Fixed-Rate Mortgage | 7.89% | 48 months | Not stated by lender | 80% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified August 31, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Premiere Small Town Advantage | 7.95% | 12 months | First | 65% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Express First Mortgage — 2 Year | 7.99% | 24 months | First | 80% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Express First Mortgage — No Lender Fee | 7.99% | 12 months | First | 75% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Flex First Mortgage | 7.99% | 12 months | First | 75% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| The Police Credit Union | 1 Year Second Mortgage | 8.00% interest · 8.232% APR | 12 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Flex 83% Bundle | 8.99% | 24 months | First | 83% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Multi-Residential and Mixed Use | 8.99% | 12 months | First | 65% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Flexline HELOC | 11.99% | 24 months | Second | 75% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
| Alta West Capital | Flex Second Mortgage | 11.99% | 12 months | Second | 80% | Dated August 25, 2026Verified August 25, 2026 |
Public research used for comparison guidance
- Financial Consumer Agency of Canada — interest on mortgages opens in a new tab
Canadian consumer guidance on fixed and variable interest structures.
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau — compare loan estimates opens in a new tab
United States comparison guidance used only as an information-design benchmark for keeping rate, fees and time horizon together.