Source-linked mortgage category
Ontario second mortgage rates
A second mortgage ranks behind an existing first mortgage. Published pricing is commonly higher than comparable first-position pricing and should be evaluated with its lender fee and short-term interest cost. The relevant LTV is usually combined secured debt divided by property value, not the proposed second-mortgage amount alone. Location, property type and exit strategy may also change the available tier.
- Confirm that the published row is explicitly second position.
- Calculate combined LTV using all mortgages secured against the property.
- Compare the expected exit or repayment plan with the stated term and fees.
- Published pricing rows
- 109
- Distinct products
- 68
- Lenders / maximum LTV
- 24 / 85%
- Latest record
- September 2, 2026
What this category can and cannot answer
The inventory can show published rate rows, terms, positions, LTV ceilings, property or qualification wording, fees and source dates. It cannot determine approval, current lender discretion or city-level availability where the source only states Ontario.
- Positions shown
- First or second mortgage, Second, Second mortgage
- Term range
- 6–84 months
- Comparison path
- Open these filters in the full comparison
Published product records
Ordered by smallest displayed rate for scanning, not suitability.
| Lender | Product | Displayed rate | Term | Position | Maximum LTV | Rate / verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WFCU Credit Union | 3 Year Fixed High-Ratio Special | 3.99% APR · 3-year fixed high-ratio special | 36 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 5 Year Fixed Special | 4.56% APR · 5-year fixed special | 60 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 3 Year Fixed Special | 4.57% APR · 3-year fixed special | 36 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 5 Year Adjustable | 4.85% | 60 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 5 Year Fixed Closed | 4.99% | 60 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 5 Year Variable | 5.00% | 60 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 3 Year Adjustable | 5.10% | 36 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 3 Year Fixed Closed | 5.19% | 36 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 3 Year Variable | 5.25% | 36 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 4 Year Fixed Closed | 5.29% | 48 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 3 Year Fixed Mortgage | 5.31% APR · 3-year fixed | 36 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Golden Horseshoe Credit Union | 3 Year Closed Second Mortgage | 5.35% 3-year closed second mortgage | 36 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 2 Year Fixed Mortgage | 5.47% APR · 2-year fixed | 24 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 5 Year Fixed Mortgage | 5.54% APR · 5-year fixed | 60 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Golden Horseshoe Credit Union | 5 Year Closed Second Mortgage | 5.59% 5-year closed second mortgage | 60 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 2 Year Fixed Closed | 5.64% | 24 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| St. Stanislaus–St. Casimir's Polish Parishes Credit Union | 3 Year Closed Residential Second Mortgage | 5.69% 3-year closed second mortgage | 36 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| Golden Horseshoe Credit Union | Flex-Line Home Equity Second Mortgage | 5.70% flex-line second mortgage | Not stated | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 1 Year Fixed Closed | 5.74% | 12 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| St. Stanislaus–St. Casimir's Polish Parishes Credit Union | 4 Year Closed Residential Second Mortgage | 5.94% 4-year closed second mortgage | 48 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 4 Year Fixed Mortgage | 5.94% APR · 4-year fixed | 48 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| St. Stanislaus–St. Casimir's Polish Parishes Credit Union | 5 Year Closed Residential Second Mortgage | 5.99% 5-year closed second mortgage | 60 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| St. Stanislaus–St. Casimir's Polish Parishes Credit Union | 2 Year Closed Residential Second Mortgage | 6.04% 2-year closed second mortgage | 24 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| Oshawa Community Credit Union | Meritline Second Mortgage | Prime + 1.75% (6.20% at published Prime 4.45%) | Not stated | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 1 Year Fixed Mortgage | 6.48% APR · 1-year fixed | 12 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Golden Horseshoe Credit Union | 2 Year Closed Second Mortgage | 6.49% 2-year closed second mortgage | 24 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| St. Stanislaus–St. Casimir's Polish Parishes Credit Union | 1 Year Closed Residential Second Mortgage | 6.75% 1-year closed second mortgage | 12 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| Golden Horseshoe Credit Union | 1 Year Closed Second Mortgage | 6.99% 1-year closed second mortgage | 12 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 7 Year Fixed Mortgage | 7.10% APR · 7-year fixed | 84 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 6 Month Fixed Mortgage | 7.36% APR · 6-month fixed | 6 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Equity Credit Union | Home Equity Line of Credit Second Mortgage | 7.45% HELOC second mortgage | Not stated | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| L.I.U.N.A. Local 183 Credit Union | 5 Year Closed Second Mortgage | 7.50% 5-year closed second mortgage | 60 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| The Police Credit Union | 1 Year Second Mortgage | 8.00% interest · 8.232% APR | 12 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| St. Stanislaus–St. Casimir's Polish Parishes Credit Union | 6 Month Open Residential Second Mortgage | 8.20% 6-month open second mortgage | 6 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | Closed Variable Mortgage | From 8.88% APR · closed variable | Not stated | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Hosper Mortgage | Hosper Advantage | From 8.99% | 12 months | Second | 75% | Dated July 20, 2026Verified July 20, 2026 |
| Richview Capital MIC | Private Second Mortgage | From 8.99% | Not stated | Second | 75% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Richview Capital MIC | HELOC Second Position | From 8.99% | Not stated | Second | 75% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| RiverRock MIC | Second Mortgage | Starting at 8.99% | Not stated | Second | 80% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| VWR Capital Corp. | Ontario 1 Year Second Mortgage | 9.25% | 12 months | Second | 75% | Dated August 10, 2026Verified August 10, 2026 |
| Three Point Capital | Horizon — Second Mortgage | 9.55% | 12 months | Second | 75% | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | Open Variable Mortgage | From 9.92% APR · open variable | Not stated | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Three Point Capital | Elevation Weighted — Second Mortgage | 9.95% | 12 months | Second | 75% | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| Contemporary Investment Corporation | Residential Second Mortgage — Closed | As low as 9.99% | 18 months | Second | 70% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 6 Month Convertible | 9.99% | 6 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | First Rate Second Mortgage — 1 Year Open | 9.99% | 12 months | Second | Not stated | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| Lendworth Financial | Private Second Mortgage | Starting from 9.99% | 12 months | Second | 75% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Sequence Capital | Urban Second Mortgage | From 9.99% | Not stated | Second | 75% | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| Golden Horseshoe Credit Union | 1 Year Open Second Mortgage | 10.00% 1-year open second mortgage | 12 months | Second mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 2, 2026 |
| Three Point Capital | Elevation Balanced — Second Mortgage | 10.45% | 12 months | Second | 75% | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| Contemporary Investment Corporation | Investment Property Second Mortgage — Closed | As low as 10.50% | 18 months | Second | 65% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Antrim Investments | Residential Second Mortgage — Open | 10.95% | Not stated | Second | 75% | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| Atrium Mortgage Investment Corporation | Residential Second Mortgage | 10.99% | 12 months | Second | 75% | Dated July 21, 2026Verified July 21, 2026 |
| Hosper Mortgage | Hosper Dynamic | From 10.99% | 12 months | Second | 80% | Dated July 20, 2026Verified July 20, 2026 |
| Indigoblue MIC | Second Mortgage | Starting at 10.99% | Not stated | Second | 85% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Northside MIC | Residential Second Mortgage | Starting at 10.99% | Not stated | Second | 80% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Richview Capital MIC | Construction Second Mortgage | From 10.99% | Not stated | Second | 65% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Sequence Capital | Rural Second Mortgage | From 10.99% | Not stated | Second | 65% | Checked August 31, 2026 |
| Contemporary Investment Corporation | Residential Second Mortgage — Open | As low as 11.25% | 6 months | Second | 70% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
| Northside MIC | Construction Second Mortgage | Starting at 11.49% | Not stated | Second | 75% | Checked September 1, 2026 |
Public research used for comparison guidance
- Financial Consumer Agency of Canada — borrowing against home equity opens in a new tab
Canadian guidance on second mortgages, HELOCs, borrowing limits and risks.
- Financial Consumer Agency of Canada — prepayment penalties opens in a new tab
Canadian guidance on charges that can matter when comparing mortgage terms.